A Schengen Visa is the document issued by the appropriate authorities to the interested party for visiting/travelling to and within the Schengen Area. The Schengen Area is comprised of 26 countries that have agreed to allow free movement of their citizens within this area as a single country. Of the 26 countries bound by the Schengen agreement, 22 are part of the EU and the other 4 are part of the EFTA. Schengen area covers the majority of European countries, except for the United Kingdom and countries such as Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Ireland soon to be part of the agreement. However, there are countries that are not part of the EU like Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein yet do belong in the Schengen area and cherish the free movement policy.

A Schengen Visa may be applied for Tourism, Business and Medical Treatment purposes. In this instance, it is a visitor visa for a short period and is supposed to be applied at the embassy / consulate of the country of the applicant’s primary visit. Upon obtaining the visa, the applicant may travel to other Schengen countries as well but their arrival and departure is recommended to be made at the country that issued the Schengen Visa.

Schengen Visa Process is carried out as per the regulations of Schengen Border Code. For each category of visa, the criteria, requirements and considerations of the embassy / consulate may be different. However, the general rules and requirements for all countries and for all types of visa are more or less the same.

MIS-Legal team is available to assist you with information on Schengen Visa. Our consultation may be hired for advice, assistance and guidance in compilation of appropriate documents, completing application forms and preparing for a visa interview (if required).